Skip to content
Brighton and Hove Counts — Brighton and Hove, in numbers.Local help →

Brighton and Hove · England

People and living standards

Brighton and Hove council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Brighton and Hove

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Brighton and Hove local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 240,534 in 1991 to 284,170 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Brighton and Hove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 242,499 people in 1996; 284,170 people in 2025. 17.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991240,534
1992240,903
1993240,640
1994240,829
1995241,900
1996242,499
1997244,745
1998246,816
1999248,008
2000248,791
2001249,949
2002249,743
2003249,846
2004249,847
2005252,863
2006255,564
2007258,161
2008262,019
2009265,584
2010269,495
2011272,952
2012274,051
2013275,494
2014275,999
2015277,351
2016279,796
2017279,500
2018281,250
2019279,920
2020278,496
2021276,454
2022278,709
2023282,366
2024285,063
2025284,170
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Brighton and Hove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 41,055 people in 1996; 38,933 people in 2025. 5.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199138,489
199239,332
199339,863
199440,526
199540,931
199641,055
199741,395
199841,654
199941,627
200041,324
200141,277
200241,356
200341,606
200441,669
200542,248
200642,482
200742,665
200843,015
200943,522
201043,885
201144,451
201244,565
201344,867
201444,855
201544,909
201644,822
201744,317
201843,846
201942,861
202042,329
202141,547
202241,291
202340,670
202439,978
202538,933
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Brighton and Hove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 157,124 people in 1996; 203,484 people in 2025. 29.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991153,244
1992153,586
1993153,590
1994154,131
1995155,654
1996157,124
1997159,756
1998162,210
1999164,272
2000166,342
2001168,323
2002168,820
2003169,488
2004170,196
2005173,105
2006176,350
2007179,498
2008183,333
2009186,530
2010189,991
2011192,652
2012192,949
2013193,547
2014193,584
2015194,604
2016196,825
2017196,999
2018199,033
2019198,372
2020197,295
2021195,670
2022197,825
2023201,721
2024204,309
2025203,484
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Brighton and Hove council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,320 people in 1996; 41,753 people in 2025. 5.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,801
199247,985
199347,187
199446,172
199545,315
199644,320
199743,594
199842,952
199942,109
200041,125
200140,349
200239,567
200338,752
200437,982
200537,510
200636,732
200735,998
200835,671
200935,532
201035,619
201135,849
201236,537
201337,080
201437,560
201537,838
201638,149
201738,184
201838,371
201938,687
202038,872
202139,237
202239,593
202339,975
202440,776
202541,753
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 277,103 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brighton and Hove · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh13,2174.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,4582%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups13,2284.8%
White236,57185.4%
Other ethnic group8,6293.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 273,369 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brighton and Hove · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White243,51289.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,4083.8%
Asian/Asian British11,2784.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,1881.5%
Other ethnic group3,9831.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 247,817 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Brighton and Hove · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White233,58294.3%
Mixed4,7991.9%
Asian/Asian British4,5391.8%
Black/Black British1,9920.8%
Chinese/Other2,9051.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 15.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Brighton and Hove council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,147 per person in 1997; £30,073 per person in 2024. 147.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,147
199812,209
199912,706
200013,456
200114,080
200214,486
200314,675
200415,304
200515,994
200616,365
200716,935
200817,531
200918,096
201018,000
201118,104
201218,598
201319,297
201419,927
201521,264
201621,724
201722,496
201823,138
201924,192
202023,970
202125,290
202226,927
202328,495
202430,073
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Brighton and Hove council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 14.5% in 1997; 15.8% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Brighton and Hove council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199714.5
199812.8
199912.3
200013
200113.8
200214.5
200312.6
200412.8
200513.8
200611.8
200710.4
200811.3
200913
201011.5
201111.1
201210.1
201310.2
201410.2
201511.8
201612.8
201714.2
201813.4
201914.8
202014.2
202115.8
202217.3
202316.5
202415.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

19.1%

21 March 2021 · Brighton and Hove local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.4%

21 March 2021 · Brighton and Hove local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Brighton and Hove local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£409,000

July 2026 · Brighton and Hove local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,808

August 2026 · Brighton and Hove local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.